Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA)

What is the CRA?

There are two non-contiguous redevelopment areas in the City of Key West: the Caroline Street Corridor Redevelopment Area (“CSC Subarea”) and the Bahama Village Redevelopment Area (“BVRA Subarea”).  These two non-contiguous redevelopment areas are collectively managed by the Caroline Street Corridor and Bahama Village Community Redevelopment Agency (“CRA”), encompassing a total of approximately 127 acres. The Key West City Commission sits as the CRA. The Bahama Village Redevelopment Advisory Committee is an advisory committee to the CRA for the Bahama Village Redevelopment Subarea.  

The redevelopment areas were initially established through a Finding of Necessity approved in 1992. Subsequently, the City created the CRA and approved redevelopment plans for each subarea: the Bahama Village Redevelopment Plan was adopted initially in 1995 and updated in 1998, and the Caroline Street Corridor (formerly known as the Key West Bight Redevelopment Area) Plan was approved in 1996. The City amended its Community Redevelopment Plan on January 6, 2010, via Resolution No. 10-003.  This amended plan consolidates and updates the prior redevelopment plan consistent with the City’s Comprehensive and Strategic Plan.  

Image of Sunset Opens in new window

2019-2020 CRA Annual Report

Elected members of the City of Key West Commission as of December of 2020

CRA Member Roster

The City Commission, per F.S. § 163.35, declares itself to be the Caroline Street Corridor and Bahama Village Community Redevelopment Agency.

CRA Officers in the photo listed from Left to Right: Commissioner Hoover, Commission Davila, Commissioner Weekley, Mayor Johnston, Commission Lopez, Commissioner Wardlow, and Commissioner Kaufman.

Agendas and Minutes 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 

The Community Redevelopment Agency adheres to generally applicable ethics provisions established within the State of Florida.

City of Key West Website